Careers Ireland

Students' embarking on their career journey – Is Féidir linn

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Blog Stats

    • 217,238 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 540 other followers

Do you have any career questions?

Posted by Francis O' Toole on February 7, 2008

Go to comment section and I will give a reply ASAP.

2 Responses to “Do you have any career questions?”

  1. Philip King said

    Hi there. I wonder if you can help me. You attended our school recently and said to ask if we had any queries and i have.
    I want to do mechanical engineering in UCD . I have to fill in my subject choices for leaving cert and would REALLY LOVE to opt out of Irish as a subject as although I did well in my junior cert with it( B1 higher)I struggle with it as a subject. I was born in England (have an English passport)and moved to Ireland when I was four and so have done Irish all through my schooling but if I did`nt have to take it in the leaving it wuld be such a pressure off my shoulders. Do you know is it a requirment for entry to UCD? The other subjects I plan on taking are
    Maths, English, French,History, Business org, Physics, Design and communication graphics,(TG as was) and either physics or applied maths. If i didnt have to do Irish I would do both those subjects.
    Thank you for your help and I look forward to your reply.
    Philip King.

  2. Hi philip,

    I do think you should speak with your subject teacher and parents before making a decision to drop irish.

    If born outside of Ireland, you need to send a copy of birthcert to NUI for verification – to get exemptions from irish.

    National University of Ireland
    29 Merrion Square,
    Dublin 2

    phone : 014392424

    Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

