Careers Ireland

Students' embarking on their career journey – Is Féidir linn

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
  • Blog Stats

    • 224,807 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 711 other followers

What is the National Framework of Qualifications?

Posted by Francis O' Toole on February 5, 2008

laytown-beach-two.jpgIf you get a qualification from the Department of Education or FETAC or HETAC or some University you get it at a certain level in the ten-level framework.  The Junior Cert is at level 3, LC and many PLC are at level 5, if you get a higher cert in college level 6, an ordinary degree is level 7 and an honours degree is level 8, masters level 9 and level 10 is Doctorate. More information


2 Responses to “What is the National Framework of Qualifications?”

  1. clare said

    I have level 7 in a course, is it possible to go back to college and do level 8?

  2. Yes, this is called a one year (add-on) – contact the college where you did your studies or look at other comparable courses.
    Level 8 is an honours degree.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s